Currently viewing the tag: "Dawntown 2009"

Announcing DawnTown 2009: Metromover!  DawnTown is the annual international architecture competition for Downtown Miami.  This year’s topic is a new station for Downtown Miami’s elevated public transportation system, Metromover.  Full contest details are at

Registration is open to all, and closes October 14, 2009.  The jury includes:

  • Terry Riley, Director of the Miami Art Museum
  • Gillian Thomas, President of the Miami Science Museum
  • Mera Rubell of the Rubell Family Collection
  • Dennis Scholl, Miami program Director of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
  • Harpal Kapoor, Director of Miami-Dade Transit

Prize are $8000, $4000, and $2000.  The award ceremony will take place on Friday, December 4, at Marquis, the luxury condo and hotel tower across the street from the competition site.

For more information and to download competition materials, please go to

DawnTown 2009: Metromover is sponsored by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Miami Downtown Development Authority, Marquis, and Akerman Senterfitt. The competition is produced in partnership with the University of Miami, Florida International University, and Miami-Dade College schools of architecture, Design & Architecture Senior High, the Miami Art Museum, and the City of Miami.

Tagged with:
This site is protected by Comment SPAM Wiper.